VIIN Young Investigator Symposium 2016

Date 14 October 2016
Time 8:30am - 6:00pm
Venue Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
iCal Add to Calendar
– –

A great opportunity to present your work to the VIIN!

The purpose of this symposium is to provide current postgrad students, RAs and postdocs a forum for career networking and scientific exchange.

Keynote Speakers:

Drug Discovery: Academia to Industry and back again!
Professor Vicky Avery

Eskitis Institute for Drug Discovery at Griffith University

Zika and Norovirus; Olympic champions
Associate Professor Jason Mackenzie

Peter Doherty Institute at the University of Melbourne

4 - VIIN Young Investigators Symposium  5 - Victorian Infection and Immunity Network Young Investigator Symp

Abstract submission:

Please submit abstracts for oral and poster presentations using this proforma to by 26 August. If you have any trouble submitting your abstract or do not receive a confirmation email within 24 hours of submission please email: .


Prizes will be awarded for best oral and poster presentations as well as best student questions. Two invitations to speak (one postdoc and one student) at the 2017 Lorne Infection and Immunity Conference will be awarded this year, plus cash prizes from our sponsors.


Registration closes 30 September. Lab heads and senior researchers - please attend and support your Young Investigators, even if you can only stay for a session or two!

Register now >


1 - Unnamed            2 - Unnamed 

7 - Unnamed   6 - Unnamed 

8 - Unnamed

After Party!

Come to the VIIN Young Investigator Symposium After-Party to relax, socialise and network with other VIIN Researchers - at Naughtons Hotel from 6pm onwards. Snacks provided and a great menu for dinner.

2016 Organising Committee:

Rebecca Ambrose, CSIRO Australian Animal Health Laboratory
Celine Deffrasnes, University of Melbourne, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Jen Dowling, Hudson Institute of Medical Research
Melanie Hutton, Monash University, Department of Microbiology
Sam Manna, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute
Kat Matthews, Deakin University
Morag Milton, Victorian Infection and Immunity Network 
Jaclyn Pearson, University of Melbourne, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Linda Reiling, Burnet Institute
Anubhav Srivastava, Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Wilson Wong, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

How to get there >

Download a flyer >

Event Program

Show Program